Adam and Even: the First Post

Hi!

So I have finally started this blog to record my progress in studies. It took me time but I am here.

Currently I am reading Women between Islam and Western Society by Maulana Wahiduddin Khan. Lots of interesting stuff in there to discuss which I shall do soon.  Here is my initial reading list. I have read most of the books on the list but will have to read them again to make notes. Any more suggestions in the area of Muslim feminism and cyberreligions would be greatly appreciated! I will keep updating the list.

Thank you!

9 thoughts on “Adam and Even: the First Post

  1. Becky says:

    Thank you for sharing! Think I’ll need to expand my personal library and add a fair few of these to my reading list.

  2. Sharshura says:

    I don’t have a suggestion, but I am asking for one in return. There is a book out there that is seen as a classic called “The Ideal Muslimah.” I read a couple of a pages a few years ago and wasn’t really impressed by it. Plus I really trust anything that is written by a man about how I as a Muslim woman should act.

    I would like to start reading more female scholarship, but the only woman I have found is Amina Wadud. Are there any other books that you recommend that kind of would go along the same lines as Ideal Muslimah except would not have the perception of how a man perceives the perfect Muslim woman?

  3. Becky says:

    I’ll actually second that suggestion, I actually read all of the Ideal Muslimah and really wasn’t impressed. It’s always bothered me when men tell women how to act, dress and behave.

  4. Metis says:

    Welcome Becky and Sharshura!

    A special congratulations to Becky for actually reading all of the Ideal Muslimah! The book I’m currently reading is a bit like it but perhaps not as potent.

    I personally like Asma Barlas and Fatima Mersini very much. Someone I was talking to recently said she didn’t find Barlas completely convincing and later I realised it was because Barlas doesn’t wear hijab and is not a native Arabic speaker, both of which I felt were lame excuses. Some may say that Fatima Mersini is not a Muslim feminist but I disagree with that as well. She writes about cultural Islam but she definitely writes from the Quran. Nawal Sadaawi is also good but unfortunately her official website is banned and blocked in the Middle East!

    In short, if you find books by either one of them, you’ll enjoy them (I think).

  5. Sara says:

    Thanks for the bibliography – will read the ones I haven’t yet for sure.
    Here are some other suggestions:

    – Marnia Lazreg: Questioning the Veil
    – Saba Mahmood: The Politics of Piety
    – Nawal el-Saadawi: The Hidden Faces of Eve
    – Heath: The Veil
    – Mernissi: The Forgotten Queens of Islam
    – Badran: Feminism in Islam AND Islamic Feminism: What’s in a Name?
    – Wadud: Inside the Gender Jihad
    – Kandiyoti: Gendering the Middle East (not sure if this is relevant)
    – Khaled Abou El-Fadl: EVERYTHING. He brings up gender a lot, and wrote one book on Islamic law and women, can’t remember the title right now.

    • Metis says:

      Thanks Sara!

      I have read The Politics of Piety, The Hidden Faces of Eve, The Forgotten Queens of Islam, Feminism in Islam AND Islamic Feminism: What’s in a Name? and Inside the Gender Jihad. Will check out the rest. I also own Speaking in God’s Name that has a lot of good stuff in it.

  6. Marahm says:

    Intriguing list; I haven’t read any of it, but a few of the authors seem familiar.

  7. fatima says:

    I recently tried reading The Ideal Muslimah but I couldn’t make progress with it, I am a huge fan of Fatema Mernissi and have just ordered ‘The veil and the Muslim Elite’. I’m definitely going to look up the other books listed as well.

  8. Sumera says:

    The Ideal Muslimah was lame, really I didnt like it one bit!

Comments are closed.