Thank you, Susie!

Libraries are few and not so great where I live so I mostly end up buying books I have already read and also those I have not read. Yesterday I ordered some books on Amazon, but since most are used, the third party seller only sends them within the USA. The first person I thought about is my friend Susanne. I asked her if I could have them all delivered to her (in 14 individual consignments!) and she could send them to me when they all arrive, and she instantly said yes! I hope I wasn’t imposing, but Susie has such a dear heart, bless her! Within an hour,  Susie and I had exchanged quick emails and the books were on their way to her.

Thank you, Susie!

For the interested, the books I ordered are:

1. “Women and Gender in Islam: Historical Roots of a Modern Debate”
Leila Ahmed Ph.D

2.  “Muslim Networks from Hajj to Hip Hop (Islamic Civilization and Muslim Networks)”
Miriam Cooke

3. “iMuslims: Rewiring the House of Islam (Islamic Civilization and Muslim Networks)”
Gary R. Bunt

4.
“Transforming the Faiths of Our Fathers: Women Who Changed American Religion”
Ann Braude

5. “Islam and Gender”
Ziba Mir-Hosseini

6. “Islam in the Digital Age: E-Jihad, Online Fatwas and Cyber Islamic Environme (Critical Studies on Islam)”
Gary R. Bunt

7. “The Rights of Women in Islam”
Asghar Ali Engineer

8. “Feminism and World Religions (Mcgill Studies in the History of Religions)”
Arvind Sharma

 

9.  “The Justice Men Owe Women: Positive Resources from World Religions (Sacred Energies Series)”

John C. Raines

10. “Faith and Freedom: Women’s Human Rights in the Muslim World (Gender, Culture, and Politics in the Middle East)”
Mahnaz Afkhami

11. “Arabia and the Arabs: From the Bronze Age to the Coming of Islam (Peoples of the Ancient World)”
Robert G. Hoyland

12. “Women in the Middle East: Past and Present”
Nikki R. Keddie

13. “Islam, Gender, and Social Change”
Yvonne Yazbeck Haddad

14. “Virtually Islamic: Computer-mediated Communication & Cyber Islamic Environments (University of Wales Press – Religion, Culture, and Society)”
Gary Bunt

15.  “Remaking Women”
Lila Abu-Lughod; Paperback

29 thoughts on “Thank you, Susie!

  1. susanne430 says:

    I’m so glad I can help in this small way! I only wish I could read the books first… 😉 Can’t wait to read your notes on them and learn from you through this blog. I enjoy the posts and the wonderful comments from your readers! It’s a fun way to learn about Islam,Muslims and women. 🙂

    • Metis says:

      Thanks Susie!

      I was telling my husband last night that Susie is such a bookworm it would distress her to have the books under her roof and not have time to read them all before sending me 🙂 The first couple should reach you today or tomorrow so go ahead and devour as many as you can, my sweet bookworm!

  2. sarah says:

    Such a generous act and I hope it all goes smoothly – postal systems being hit and miss in some parts of the world. Have you thought about using an e-reader and seeing which books are electronically avaiable? I hated the idea at first but actually got used to not turning pages and it could really help you out. There’s a huge back catalog available now too.

  3. Lat says:

    Susanne is so sweet and helpful! You’ve really ordered a lot of books! 😀 Happy reading both of you! Susanne shouldn’t miss the boat! haha!

    Out of all those books mentioned, I’ve read only on “The Rights of Women in Islam”
    Asghar Ali Engineer”

  4. Sara says:

    What a fabulous list! Can’t wait to check out the ones I haven’t read.
    Susie you’re amazing! 🙂

  5. susanne430 says:

    11. ”Arabia and the Arabs: From the Bronze Age to the Coming of Islam (Peoples of the Ancient World)”
    Robert G. Hoyland

    13. ”Islam, Gender, and Social Change”
    Yvonne Yazbeck Haddad

    Came in the morning mail 🙂

  6. susanne430 says:

    5. ”Islam and Gender”
    Ziba Mir-Hosseini

    9. ”The Justice Men Owe Women: Positive Resources from World Religions (Sacred Energies Series)”

    came today. In case you are keeping track. 🙂

  7. susanne430 says:

    1. “Women and Gender in Islam: Historical Roots of a Modern Debate”
    Leila Ahmed Ph.D

    2. ”Muslim Networks from Hajj to Hip Hop (Islamic Civilization and Muslim Networks)”
    Miriam Cooke

    12. ”Women in the Middle East: Past and Present”
    Nikki R. Keddie

    15. ”Remaking Women”
    Lila Abu-Lughod; Paperback

    came today! No Sunday mail so I’ll let you know Monday if more books come.

  8. Metis says:

    No! I’m just super excited and I get bad cramps when I’m excited 😀

  9. Zuhura says:

    I’m reading a good one now that I would recommend:

    Saliba, Therese, Carolyn Allen, and Judith A Howard, eds. Gender, Politics, and Islam. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2002.

  10. Zuhura says:

    I’m about 2/3 through and so far it’s really good. Each essay is by a different author, some are more theoretical and some are ethnography. All but one, where the ethnography was so specific to the particular context/issues that I couldn’t relate it to larger issues in Islam, have been excellent.

  11. susanne430 says:

    3. ”iMuslims: Rewiring the House of Islam (Islamic Civilization and Muslim Networks)”
    Gary R. Bunt

    10. ”Faith and Freedom: Women’s Human Rights in the Muslim World (Gender, Culture, and Politics in the Middle East)”
    Mahnaz Afkhami

    14. ”Virtually Islamic: Computer-mediated Communication & Cyber Islamic Environments (University of Wales Press – Religion, Culture, and Society)”
    Gary Bunt

    and also “A Chosen Faith”

    came today!

  12. Lat says:

    That snake dance sounds interesting! 😀

  13. susanne430 says:

    4.“Transforming the Faiths of Our Fathers: Women Who Changed American Religion”
    Ann Braude

    7. ”The Rights of Women in Islam”
    Asghar Ali Engineer

    8. “Feminism and World Religions (Mcgill Studies in the History of Religions)”
    Arvind Sharma

    came today!

    • Metis says:

      THANK YOU so much! So only E-Jihad is left? I hope that is not censored here 😦 It is benign really.

      And my crimp covers are on the way too! Thanks Susie. I owe you a big one!

  14. Organica says:

    Send them my way any time!

  15. Organica says:

    I am more than happy to be your second trusted source here in the U.S. :))))

  16. susanne430 says:

    Your other book still has not come. I keep checking for it though …

Leave a Reply

