Why do you blog?

I was introduced to the Blogosphere almost six years ago and as the saying goes ‘I never looked back’! Although that was never my initial purpose to enter the Blogosphere, I discovered that blogging has really changed my life – how I interact with people, how I understand things, and how I have grown interested in disciplines that had never attracted me before. Hence, it is almost normal for me to research this amazing aspect of technology and Muslim women.

• I wanted to know from you, my readers, why do you blog?
• And if you don’t blog, why do you read blogs?
• How is blogging important to you?
• How has it helped you as Muslim women (or if you are non-Muslim then to understand Muslim women)?
• Has it empowered you in any way?
• What can blogging do that other media can’t?

Please do take a few minutes to answer these questions for me. They are very important for my understanding of my own research.

Many thanks in advance!

12 thoughts on “Why do you blog?

  1. Stephanie says:

    It’s my own small voice out in the wilderness. It’s a way for me to connect and bounce ideas off of others. I’d also like to think that my ideas might stimulate thoughts and inquiry in my reader.

  2. Zuhura says:

    I blog because I don’t have people in real life to share these particular ideas with. I have a lot of friends but few are Muslim and even fewer are progressive Muslims. I read blogs for a long time before I started my own because I was seeking like-minded people. I still find reading blogs more important to me than actually blogging myself, but it does feel good to know that people are reading what I write and that I can help them in the same way that blogs helped me, letting them know they are not alone in this experience and these questions.

  3. sana says:

    i dont have a blog, but i read alot. Earlier it used to be only food blogs. I don’t remember how I stumbled upon your blog, but I do remember which post I had read first and I also remember that “polygamy’ search on google brought me here, and now I am here! also “Organicmuslimah”.

    I always found a few things about my religion unfair. And reading blogs helps me understand more. I cannot put in words the difference I feel in myself ever since I started reading blogs. I do not know all the how’s and why’s of Islam but through blogs I know I have come a long way. And I am proud of that. I have become more open about learning more. Tolerant. And I can say that I have become spiritual ,not only religious. I have started reading Quranic verses in English and not just recite in Arabic, blindly, not knowing a word of what I am reading.
    With that I am also curious about other religions and faith.
    In my family, there’s no one else I can share my thoughts with. I have never read books about feminism (muslim or not) and islam. so i cannot tell how different it is from any other media. Since I live alone with my husband, blogs are the easiest and most convenient, according to me. I feel I am actually communicating through blogs. Plus I love reading the comments, I doubt there is any other way that can hold such discussions. Its easier to write for me than to speak. So it’s the best for me.
    The quote “Don’t walk behind me, I may not lead. Don’t walk in front of me, I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.”
    I love your blog:)

  4. Sara says:

    – I blog because I love having a space where I can share my thoughts, beliefs, views, and general thought processes. I love hearing people’s opinions and love being challenged.

    – Blogging is important to me because I can share my views and journeys, and can hear diverse views.

    – It has helped Muslim women by giving them a public space to have discussions and talk about current issues.

    – It has definitely empowered me. It has made me think about my ideas more carefully, criticize myself, and be open to different views.

    – Blogging is a form of media that is unique because you don’t have to have any credentials to be taken seriously: it is about ordinary people talking about everything and anything.

  5. susanne430 says:

    • I wanted to know from you, my readers, why do you blog? I’ve always enjoyed writing much better than talking on the phone so initially I decided it was a good place to write my thoughts, record a few life happenings and now it’s pretty much the same only I’ve met some nice people who read and offer feedback so it has expanded to my learning from others which is fantastic to me!

    • How is blogging important to you? it’s a great way to connect with people of other cultures and backgrounds; a place to discuss faith; make new friends; appreciate others’ differences; learn to know why you believe the way you believe; it’s a way to challenge yourself and grow

    • How has it helped you as Muslim women (or if you are non-Muslim then to understand Muslim women)? I can read books of how Muslim women are treated and feel, however, it’s better to go straight to the source and get a pulse of how Muslim women around the world live; I think this gives a clearer and more accurate picture: not all of them are oppressed! 😉

    • Has it empowered you in any way? yes, it helps me speak more intelligently about the true nature of women in other countries; at times it has made me furious for what they have endured and made me want to help more by creating awareness at the very least

    • What can blogging do that other media can’t? it shares day to day happenings; the real perspectives and not ones that are filtered through the producer of what makes the cut for each newscast or newspaper article; it offers real glimpses of real people who are opening up their lives so you can take a peak and learn from them

  6. Serenity says:

    Salaam!

    • Why do you blog?
    I started blogging in 2006, first on Yahoo! 360 where I joined a really exciting Muslim community. I’d never intended to be a blogger and didn’t even know what it was, but I’m known for being talkative and close to bursting because of the millions of ideas always running through my head. A teacher recently told me in response to my frustrations about how difficult it is to have these ideas and to be learning so much and no one who’s willing to listen or no one who understands, “Looks like someone needs to write a novel!” And, so, since then, I’ve started a novel I’m currently calling “Smothered.”

    But, anyway, when 360 broke (shut) down, so did I. I didn’t blog for a couple of years and was always feeling like I was gonna burst. No, really, I still sometimes feel that way because in real life, almost no one gets it, or almost no one’s interested in hearing what I’m learning (about Islam, about women’s rights, about the Quran, about humanity, about the world). So I decided that I need to blog for real and have been doing so non-stop for about two years now.

    But to answer your question in more simple terms: Because I NEED to blog; it’s often the ONLY thing that calms my frustrated nerves, and is the best way for me to share my knowledge. Besides this “venting,” of course, it’s also to understand my own self and to allow myself to grow and learn.

    • How is blogging important to you?

    I have formed such an amazing network through blogging. I’ve met so many amazing and intelligent people–some I agree with, some I disagree with, some who hate what I write but still read me and some whose posts I hate but still read them and respond because we all need each other’s support, and each of us could use just one more ear. Ultimately, it’s not about how much we agree or disagree with each other; it’s about what we learn from each other, how well we can grow with each other, and how much we can empower each other.

    • How has it helped you as Muslim women (or if you are non-Muslim then to understand Muslim women)?
    • Has it empowered you in any way?

    I’m gonna answer both of these questions in one response because I think they’re closely related. As I mentioned above, through blogging, we empower each other (and ourselves), and that’s exactly what my own blogging has done to me. I have developed so much confidence and strength–mostly because I feel like I’m far more well-versed in my fields than I was, say, a year or two ago–that I feel like nothing and no can harm me or bring me down anymore. As far as how it’s helped me as a *Muslim woman*, I have re-discovered myself–and I continue doing so. I have discovered my rights mostly through blogging. Initially, it was people’s “radical feminist” blogs, which really offended me until 2 years ago or so, that drove me to study Islam more deeply. If I didn’t blog, or if I hadn’t started blogging yet, I am sure that I’d have taken a much longer time to discover these same rights. What a waste of several years that would’ve been for me, no?

    • What can blogging do that other media can’t?
    Connect people in a way, in a “live” way, that no other form of media has done before. I mean, look at us–if it hadn’t been for blogging, would I really have come across any of you folks? I may have; perhaps I may have read your books and written a review and published it on my website or something, and you MIGHT have come across it. But what would’ve been the chances of your responding to it instantly and then my writing back instantly, and so on? This is extremely important in communication, especially since we get to clear up misunderstandings very quickly and conveniently.
    —–

    Hope I answered at least a couple of yours answers! lol.

  7. Serenity says:

    *Ugggghh! Typos!!!* :@ Sorry, folks!

  8. Serenity says:

    One more thing — The reason I think it’s extremely important that we hear and understand each other, that others hear and understand us, is that that’s one of the fastest ways towards progression. Sure, we can learn all that we do and don’t have to share it with others (because learning shouldn’t be for others; it should first be for ourselves), but when it comes to things like human rights or religions or law, there’s no point in just learning or studying them. We actually need to act upon them, and one way to do that is by sharing with others what we know and discover, and making sure they understand us well so we can form a support group, a healthy community and discuss possible ways to effect positive change.

    Last comment for now, promise!

  9. unsettledsoul says:

    I blog because it is my way of decompressing. Writing is my form of relaxation. I have a crazy day, I come home and blog. When I am done my mind is relaxed and I can move on to other things. I am the kind of person who gets up at night to write down a thought, so blogging has become the solution to my need for writing.

    Blogging is important, especially for us women, because we have created our own communities. Community and a sense of belonging is always an important part of emotional health. Even the most shy thrive on some sort of social interactions, blogging can do that for shy people. I think this is wonderful. I am not a shy person, but I get that. I think the internet has done wonders for shy people.

    Yes, my blog has given me a source of empowerment, especially as a Muslim woman. My feelings, thoughts, and ideas have been given validation, I know I am not alone, this is immensely powerful for us as people who are growing, changing, and becoming confident in our intellectual capacities.

  10. Metis says:

    Such interesting responses, thank you so much kind hearts!

  11. mariam says:

    I read blogs because I learn so much from them.many things I have learned here from you and other readers cant be found in other media 🙂

  12. wafa' says:

    why do I blog?
    an outlet for me, to practice my writing more, to help the world in my way.

    And if you don’t blog, why do you read blogs?
    i love reading blog, cuz i guess i am nosy who likes to know more about people’s lives and they way they think. How they are similar or different.

    How is blogging important to you?
    dunno yet, but sometimes it’s a vent and sometimes it’s clarification. so in a way it’s important

    How has it helped you as Muslim women (or if you are non-Muslim then to understand Muslim women)?
    The idea that Islam is not only one way is a great help. I am right as much as anyone else is. It’s good and open minded 🙂

    Has it empowered you in any way?
    I guess it teaches me good lessons to apply in real life, so it might

    What can blogging do that other media can’t?
    It’s more about the real people and not beautified to show the good that is not there or the bad that is not there too.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

