Online Islamic Feminism Conference

I want to host a small-scale Online Islamic Feminism Conference (OIF) on Metis next month. I was thinking that interested writers from you write individual essays on Islam, women and Islamic feminism and on a set date we publish them all on Metis with a special page linking to all the essays. It could lead to some great discussion and we could later even try and publish the revised essays as a volume so each of us can have a publication to our credit.

What do you think? I know that some of you are already working on presentations and discussions and you could just write that up for Metis. Do you think a month is enough to prepare a 1500-2000 word essay to be published here? I was thinking of hosting the conference in March so that I have enough time to publicise the event.

Thoughts? And please raise your hand too if you want to publish in the conference. Thank you so much in advance for all your help and support.

11 thoughts on “Online Islamic Feminism Conference

  1. Sara says:

    I would love to participate 🙂
    By the way, sorry I’ve been MIA…thinking and worrying about Egypt.

  2. Becky says:

    I think this is such a wonderful idea 🙂 And you already know I’m in!

  3. I’m interested! This is an excellent idea.

  4. Serenity says:

    I’m definitely in – if someone would kindly recommend some specific topics 😀

  5. almostclever says:

    Depending on the topics we are allowed to consider, I may be into this 🙂

  6. Sharshura says:

    I would love this but I would like to know more detailed criteria. Pretty much what serenity says. OOO and a specific dead line b/c if I do this, I’m gonna need a deadline to make sure I get done.

    This is exciting!

  7. Lat says:

    This is a wonderful idea! I hope I too can participate…. if I can.

  8. Metis says:

    Ola, thanks for your comment and I hope you enjoy Metis.

    Sara, thank you so much! I so wanted you to say yes! I know 😦 I pray for Egypt every day.

    Becky, yes thanks 🙂 I love everything you write.

    ECC, thanks! I’m so happy you will contribute. Thank you so much.

    Serenity, I will put up a list soon with some more guidelines. Thank you!

    Almost Clever, you can write on almost anything 😀

    Sharshura, Great! Thank you so much, really. This was just a ‘ball rolling’ post. I will offer more guidelines soon. Any suggestions you have that I should keep in mind?

    Lat, what do you mean by “if you can”? You must make time, please 🙂

    Zuhura, Yippee!! Thanks so much!

  9. Sophia says:

    Wonderful idea! I’m still a noob when it comes to both feminism and Islam, and I’m hardly educated enough to publish anything so I don’t know what I could really contribute, but I will certainly be looking forward to all the reading!

Leave a Reply

