Some guidelines for the Conference

Date of the Online Islamic Feminism Conference (OIFC): March 27, 2011

Deadline for submitting papers: March 23, 2011

Paper format:

  • Between 2000 and 2500 words
  • Font – Times New Roman, size 12
  • Paragraphs justified – headings will help

Suggested topics:

  • Marriage and divorce laws
  • Dowry
  • Polygamy
  • Child rearing in Muslim families
  • Inheritance laws
  • Menstruation and worship
  • Clothing of Muslim women and men
  • Women in leadership roles and politics
  • Women as witnesses in the court of law
  • Education of Muslim women
  • Gender and God
  • History of Islamic feminist movement
  • Men and women in the eyes of God Vs in society

Once you have written your essay, please alert me via this page and I’ll email you so you can send me your attachment. If you want to include a photo or any other image/audio-video link, you are most welcome to include it.

Any questions?

 


16 thoughts on “Some guidelines for the Conference

  1. Nahida says:

    How wonderful! I shall try to make time to participate!

  2. PE says:

    Hello! Found this via your facebook page- I was just wondering if you could give a little more detail on the format of the conference (like will the essays be read, will they be subsequently discussed, etc.) Basically what all the conference will entail and what will be done with the essays. Thank you!

    • Metis says:

      Hi PE, I was thinking more in the style of blog carnival – have you attended one? On a given day all the essays will be published on this blog. All readers are most welcome to comment on, discuss and publicise the essays/articles. The individual writers will answer questions and engage in discussions on their article/essay.

      I will post a single page on which will be links to all the essays submitted for the conference and put that as a sticky post so it will always appear on the top of the blog.

      I hope I have been able to answer your queries. Please don’t hesitate to ask for more details 🙂

      Will you be writing something?

  3. PE says:

    Yes that helps!! 😀 I’m ridiculously busy at the moment, but I’m still definitely going to try and put something together. Can’t wait! 🙂

  4. Serenity says:

    I was thinking of writing something for this that I would submit also for Anna Piela’s book, which means I would suggest another title: something along the lines of Muslim women’s online activities.

    As of now, however, I am still clueless about what I’d write on. ~sighs~ The topics above are way too broad.

  5. Sumera says:

    I will gladly take part – I havent wrote an essay for a very long time, but very much looking forward to it 🙂

  6. Metis says:

    PE, Serenity and Sumera, Yay! Cyberhugs to you all for participating!!

  7. Becky says:

    I’m hoping to participate, although, these days I identify more as monotheist/UU than strictly Muslim…. does that still count?

  8. almostclever says:

    Hey babe,

    Can I write about my recent experience, from a feminist perspective, and then how I view Islam now? A white convert perspective. I plan to talk about the pressure of adhering to certain clothing, the stereotypes of the western female convert, the pressure a western female convert faces, and my eventual growth to a new perspective on it all. Whaddya think?

  9. sana says:

    i wish i could…. but insha allah i will learn more, just by reading.
    thanks

  10. Houda says:

    I just saw this now!! Like many others I don’t have a lot of time but I would definitely like to write something. I’m not sure what yet, or how its going to happen, but I would definitely like to be a part of this please!!!

    Can’t wait to read all ofyour articles!!

Comments are closed.