Conference update 2

I am currently collecting and putting together the papers for the first Online Conference on Islamic Feminism on Metis. I am so excited! By tomorrow I’ll be able to tell you all when Metis can host the conference. Following is the list of bloggers who are participating (thus far) and the titles of their papers:

  1. Lat – Muslim Family laws: A look at it’s formulation and relevance today
  2. Sarah – Segregation at The Mosque (a social worker’s perspective)
  3. Zuhura – Obedient women and wife beating
  4. Becky – Are Muslim Women Allowed to Marry Non-Muslim Men?
  5. Sara – Women in the Egyptian Islamist Movements: Research and Reflexivity
  6. Organica – A Human Take on Hijab
  7. Metis – Catastrophe between their legs (FGM)

Excited?

11 thoughts on “Conference update 2

  1. Becky says:

    YES! I’m really excited to be reading all of the papers, they all sound very fascinating, important and interesting.

  2. Lat says:

    Ohhhh! I’m so nervous and excited at the same time! 🙂

  3. Sara says:

    Yaaay so exciting 😀

  4. Metis says:

    Nahida also plans to send me a paper titled “Muslims, feminism, consent, and the virginity myth.”

  5. The conference is going to be excellent, I’m looking forward to reading the papers.

  6. wafa' says:

    looking forward to reading for these intelligent ladies 🙂

  7. Serenity says:

    Very exciting! Great job, folks! Looking forward to it.

  8. Sharshura says:

    YAY! Sorry for going MIA!! I am very much looking forward to these article. Especially, Sara’s since I’m in social work school now. :~P

    • almostclever says:

      Sharshura,

      I am intrigued, I have a soft spot in my heart for anyone willing to take on social work. Good for you! I’ll be expecting you to be the most critical, since you come from the same background and concepts as I do 😉 😉

  9. sumera says:

    Looking forward to it! apologies for the delay in sending you something…

Comments are closed.